American Library Association 2014 Youth Media Award - January 27, 2014

One of the biggest days of the year in Children’s Literature is the day when the Youth Media Awards are announced.  Most people are familiar with two awards – The Newbery Medal (the most distinguished American children's books) and the Caldecott Medal (artist of the most distinguished American Picture Book for Children).  However, did you know that there are actually 18 awards?  Here is a list of all of the awards:

This year, the 2014 Youth Media Awards will be announced on Monday, January 27, 2014 at 8 a.m. (ET) in Philadelphia.  If you are an early riser, you can watch the livestream of the awards at 5 a.m. (PT).

The recorded video will be available on YouTube at 11 a.m. ET/8 a.m. PT if teachers would like to watch it with students.

Additional ways of catching the announcements:
·       Follow @alayma or with the hashtag #alayma
·       Like ALA Youth Media Awards on Facebook

For the past two years, I have had the privilege and honor to serve on the Schneider Family Book Award committee.  It is an incredible experience to read through more than a hundred books (some committees read several hundred books) looking for the ones that best meet the intentions of the award.  I may not always understand why a previous committee selected the books that they did, but I can say that I know each committee takes seriously the task of choosing these books. As a result, I am learning to appreciate and respect the decisions each committee makes in regards to their book choices.