Wednesday, June 12, 2013

The Wig in the Window Blog Tour & Giveaway


The Wig in the Window
by Kristen Kittscher
Publication Date: June 18, 2013 by HarperCollins

About the book:
Sophie Young and Grace Yang have made a game of spying on their neighbors, but when they stake out the home of notoriously phony middle school counselor Dr. Charlotte Agford (aka Dr. Awkward), they stumble across a terrifying scene.

Or do they? The girls are convinced that Dr. Agford’s sugary sweet façade hides a dark secret. But as they get closer to the truth about Agford, the strain of the investigation pushes Sophie and Grace farther apart. Even if they crack their case, will their friendship survive?

Perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society, The Wig in the Window is a smart, funny middle-grade mystery with a Rear Window twist.

Jax, Age 12 and her mom talk about the book:

I am sitting here with Jackie (you know her from the Interview Video) and her mom talking about The Wig in the Window.

Mom:  Why did you think I liked this book?

Jax: I think you liked this book because it kept you on the edge of your seat and it captured you from the start and you didn't want to put it down... 

Mom:  Can I put words in your mouth?  You told me that it needed to be captivating for me because I had a short attention span.

(now they are trying to bribe me not to write this)

Jax: That is so true.  Mom, do you relate to any of the characters  and why?

Mom: Kids aren't suppose to ask questions like that...hmmmm...well...I relate more to the kids than the adults because when you break rules, I haven't been successful in taking your phone for any length of time...  And I do like the idea of spying on neighbors.

Jax: How do you know I haven't already done so?

Mom:  Give me your phone, girl! *waits, turns to me* See she won't give it to me... Jackie, I felt this book brought us closer.  I want to start a spy business with you now.

Jax:  Am I getting paid for that?

Mom: You can stick to making fan videos!  Why did you like the book?

Jax:  I liked the book partially for the same reasons; kept me on the edge of my seat, there were these smooth turns that kept me wanting to read it. It, it grabs your chest, I mean it, it holds your heart.

Mom: Are you trying to say it made you anxious or excited or that the book grew arms and attacked you?

*laughter all around at this point*

Jax: No, it was like...I wanted to use a big word...It is inevitable that...

Mom:  ...You will devour it, much liked pickled beets?  ...I bet those tasted horrible.  What a loser gift.  I never trusted that counselor.  Anyhow, Did you think it was realistic?

Jax:  I thought it was realistic because of what the characters went through seemed realistic, plus they seemed realistic and the plot line seemed realistic and the scenes were realistic...

Mom: can you say realistic one more time...*giggles*

Jax: *rolls eyes* Realistic, I said it one more time.

Mom: When I read it, it sounded realistic (don't write that word!) and I went "no way... way... they'd never... well maybe... no way!... way!  where am I going with this? 

Jax: Did you have a fight inside your head?  Wait, what do you call that?

Mom: Domestic violence?

Me: Dang this has just deterioriated...maybe we need to go back to...

Mom: I do have a short attention span!!

Me:....maybe we need to just watch the video.

 And now for a special treat - Jackie and Amelia's Shameless Promotion Video


The Wig in the Window: Jackie & Amelia's Shameless Promotion from Alyson Beecher on Vimeo.


About the author:  "Kristen Kittscher was a child neighborhood spy but (allegedly) grew up to be an upstanding citizen and middle school English teacher. A graduate of Brown University, she now works as a writing tutor in Pasadena, California where she lives with her husband, Kai, and their hyperactive lab mix. The Wig in the Window is her first novel. Visit kristenkittscher.com to investigate more about her and Young & Yang's next adventure, The Tiara on the Terrace."

Kristen Kittscher: website | facebook | twitter |

If you haven't seen, the Author interview conducted by Jackie and Amelia, click here.  Check out the official book trailer, here.

To check out all of the blog tour stops, click here.



As part of the blog tour, I am giving away a signed hardcover of The Wig in the Window by Kristen Kittscher.

This giveaway is open to those with US and Canadian mailing addresses:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

13 comments:

  1. Lmao! So when do you start production on the movie/tv series? Only half kidding, haha!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ohmigosh! I love those kids. Both videos are so awesome. I'm going to definitely show this to my 6yo, I love their personalities, what great kids. It's been fun to watch my own kiddo grow up and show more and more of his little personality, this would be fun for him to see. Seriously, so stinkin' cute! It makes me want to read the book all over again...it deserves all their praise!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I already had this book on my radar but after viewing these HILARIOUS videos it's movin' up the TBR stack! I'll be sharing this title (and the videos) during our Summer Reading/Writing Clinic FOR SURE!!!

    My favorite children's book mystery growing up was Nancy Drew...hid under the sheets at night with my flashlight reading, reading, reading!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I would SO love to win this book for my classroom! Love the videos. My favorite mystery book for kids is a tie right now: Capture the Flag by Kate Messner and Blue Balliett's Chasing Vermeer.

    ReplyDelete
  5. When I was a kid, I lived for Trixie Belden books. Her mysteries are awesome for kids.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Can't wait to read this and talk it up with the kids I share books with! Such a funny interview, too!

    Lorna

    ReplyDelete
  7. haha awesome! love the finished video. the kids are awesome and the interview is hilarious. can't wait to finally get a copy of this book!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Growing up Carolyn Keene couldn't write those Nancy Drew books fast enough for me. I could hardly wait for the next book in the series to be released each time. For students the Sammy Keyes books are still a big hit as are the Kate Messner and Blue Balliett series. I love the Madhattan Mystery by John J. Bonk and the Enola Holmes series. I thought the Red Blazer girls books are good too.

    ReplyDelete
  9. That's a tough one. I've read so many good ones lately, but I think my favorite is Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage.

    I love middle grade mysteries and I can't wait to read this!

    ReplyDelete
  10. I love the videos and can't wait to get my hands on this book! I am always looking for good middle grade mysteries. I would love to win this one to share with my class in the fall! My favorite mysteries now are Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage and Capture the Flag by Kate Messner.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I read so many children's books that my favorites change! My latest favorite mysteries are Capture the Flag by Kate Messner and Liar and Spy by Rebecca Stead.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I am so bowled over by this amazing video! Jackie & Amelia need their own show! What a lucky, lucky author I am -- this is a highlight of the whole journey and a real gift. Thank you to the girls and to you, AlyBee!

    ReplyDelete
  13. I loved the Bobbsie Twins and Boxcar Kids as a child I had to read all the books in these series!

    ReplyDelete