Monday, January 21, 2013

It's Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA - 1/21/13

It's Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Sheila of Book Journey. Jen & Kellee from Teach Mentor Texts have adapted this to focus on Picture Books to Young Adult Books.


Here is what stood out from the past week...



America the Beautiful: Presidential Quotations and National Symbols, Illustrated by 10 American Artists by Katherine Lee Bates; Illustrated by Bryan Collier, Jon J. Muth, and more - This book combines the text of America the Beautiful, with quotes from presidents, and illustrations by 10 American Artists.  Beautifully done. Great for Presidents' Day.




The Hammer and The Anvil: Frederick Douglass, Abraham Lincoln, and the End of Slavery in America by Dwight John Zimmerman; Illustrated by Wayne Vansant - A graphic novel about the friendship of Lincoln and Douglass and how they came together to end slavery. Pair up with Russell Freedman's Abraham Lincoln and Frederick Douglass.


Odd Duck by Cecil Castelucci; Illustrated by Sara Varon (Release May 14, 2013) - I read this as a galley from Netgalley.  Castelucci and Varon make a great time.  Put this graphic novel on your "TRB" list.


My guilty pleasure this week was discovering Comixology which is a comic book app for iPad.  I am having fun exploring what is on there and what free comics I can download.  The number of children's comics are limited but for fans of Marvel and DC Comics check it out.

So, what are you reading?

13 comments:

  1. I have also read America the Beautiful and Odd Duck and really enjoyed them both. I am very intrigued by The Hammer and the Anvil. I have never seen it before. Thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Gigi - Glad you enjoyed America the Beautiful and Odd Duck.

      Delete
  2. You're definitely reading some good, themed for this week books. I'm reading The Nightmare Affair by Mindee Arnett. It's really good.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The Nightmare Affair looks interesting. Thanks for sharing.

      Delete
  3. The Hammer and the Anvil sounds wonderful, we learn about this era in history in our classroom and this would be a great resource.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm going to look into the America the Beautiful book - sounds like a treasure for the classroom. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I can't wait to read Odd Duck. I love Sara Varon!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Odd Duck looks awesome! Can't wait to read that one.

    ReplyDelete
  7. all the books look great.. have to read them.Odd Duck - the cover looks so cute.. And I have been planning to watch the movie 'Lincoln' so these books will be great reading for me. and the comics app - I am going to check that out as well..

    ReplyDelete
  8. Oh such timely titles indeed. America the Beautiful looks glorious. And I have to agree with the other comments, Odd Duck looks adorable indeed. Have a great reading week, Alyson!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Odd Duck was so cute! It's my favorite of Cecil's books now. Will have to check out more books by Sara Varon.

    Sorry for enabling your Comixology app addiction, hahah! Actually let's blame Jason for this one, lol

    ReplyDelete
  10. odd duck looks super cute. and i wish i had a tablet so i could do digital comics. i just can't deal with it on a laptop. maybe one day. have a good week, aly!

    ReplyDelete